Current Decks Used

“Two decks to rule them all, two decks to beat them,
Two decks to take them on and eventually defeat them”

– Unknown LOTR LCG player

I have realised that often when posting play reports or reviews I am using versions of my decks that are not up to date on ringsdb. I am constantly making changes, usually due to spoilers we receive for upcoming packs, and because you have to publish whole new versions of decks on ringsdb if you want to make any changes I often forget or cannot be bothered to do so. In this post I am going to show you the most up to date versions of the decks I play with and also just talk a little about how I play this game in the first place.

As I’m sure you have realised by now I play solo Two-handed exclusively. On top of that I play with the same two decks for every game. For many of you this probably sounds ridiculous and I completely admit and understand that one of the best parts of this game is the deck building aspect. Many players constantly make and try out new decks or even build a new deck for each quest they take on. I come from a MTG background and weirdly deck building was the main draw card for me in that game and I still have something like 20 different theme MTG decks packed away somewhere. In this game though for some reason I have always preferred to instead play the same two decks. I have constantly made changes to and evolved those decks however so they have changed quite a lot over the years. I personally just prefer spending most of the time I have with this game playing actual games rather than making new decks. I also like using decks that I am very comfortable with and am good at using consistently . This means I can pull off cool tricks and strategize according to what quest I am playing as I know the decks back to front. I imagine most of this will sound crazy to many readers but honestly that’s just the way I play this wonderful game. I have nothing but respect and awe for those of you that manage to not only constantly build new decks but do so well with them at the same time.

Now because I use the same two decks for every game I play this means they need to cover all the bases. Not only this but cards that do not work at all in certain types of quests are often big no no’s and are not even considered. This includes cards like traps and direct damage (toughness etc). That being said I am currently running Hands Upon the Bow which in certain quests (like many that feature ship enemies and the boarding keyword/mechanic in the current cycle) is next to useless. Other than Hands Upon the Bow I don’t think there are any other cards in the decks that can fall completely flat in certain quests. Anyway, as I was saying; all the bases need to be covered. I need to be able to generate high willpower, heal, cancel or manage treacheries and shadow cards, handle combat including bosses, swarm allies for quests that just require extra bodies, manage threat and anything else you can think of that is needed when tackling a wide variety of quests. I have managed to find a balance where I can do all of those things to a degree and can even excel at a few so long as I get the right cards or pieces. Another thing I would like to mention is that The Last Elven Host uses the Noldor discard mechanic/strategy so cards that are useless in certain quests or even just for my current situation can be discarded for resources or healing instead which helps the decks adapt on the fly. Sometimes I do struggle and admittedly the decks do run into roadblocks even if they can cover all the bases and certain quests are extremely difficult for them. There are not many quests of this nature though (could probably count them on one hand) and I tend to avoid quests that the decks are not very good against anyway.

The two decks are definitely not the strongest out there and honestly some would not even consider them “power decks” but they certain do the job I want them to and I am very happy with them and how well they do against the majority of quests! Just before I post them I would also like to add that I have definitely always tried to keep the decks as thematic as possible whilst also as strong as possible,  which does mean certain thematic concessions have to be made. Here they are in their full glory:

The Three Hunters v2

Main Deck

Hero (3)
Aragorn (The Lost Realm)
Gimli (Sands of Harad)
Legolas (Core Set)

Ally (14)
1x Azain Silverbeard (Flight of the Stormcaller)
1x Boromir (The Road Darkens)
1x Eldahir (The Thing in the Depths)
1x Faramir (Core Set)
2x Fornost Bowman (The Dread Realm)
2x Galadriel (The Road Darkens)
3x Gandalf (Core Set)
2x Guardian of Arnor (The Battle of Carn Dûm)
1x Rúmil (The Three Trials)

Attachment (21)
2x Armored Destrier (Temple of the Deceived)
3x Dagger of Westernesse (The Black Riders)
3x Dúnedain Warning (Conflict at the Carrock)
2x Elven Mail (The Three Trials)
3x Gondorian Shield (The Steward’s Fear)
2x Rivendell Blade (Road to Rivendell)
3x Steward of Gondor (Core Set)
1x Sword that was Broken (The Watcher in the Water)
2x Vigilant Guard (A Storm on Cobas Haven)

Event (15)
3x Feint (Core Set)
2x Foe-hammer (Over Hill and Under Hill)
2x Hands Upon the Bow (Shadow and Flame)
3x Sneak Attack (Core Set)
2x Sterner than Steel (The Flame of the West)
3x Unlikely Friendship (Sands of Harad)

Player Side Quest (1)
1x Send for Aid (The Treachery of Rhudaur)

Sideboard

2x Dunedain Remedy

The Last Elven Host v2

Main Deck

Hero (3)
Arwen Undómiel (The Dread Realm)
Elrond (Shadow and Flame)
Galdor of the Havens (The Grey Havens)

Ally (20)
1x Sulien (The City of Corsairs)
3x Galadhrim Healer (The Dread Realm)
3x Galadriel’s Handmaiden (Celebrimbor’s Secret)
1x Gildor Inglorion (The Hills of Emyn Muil)
1x Glorfindel (Flight of the Stormcaller)
2x Guardian of Rivendell (Flight of the Stormcaller)
1x Haldir of Lórien (A Journey to Rhosgobel)
3x Imladris Caregiver (Flight of the Stormcaller)
2x Imladris Stargazer (Foundations of Stone)
1x Lindir (The Battle of Carn Dûm)
2x Northern Tracker (Core Set)

Attachment (18)
2x A Burning Brand (Conflict at the Carrock)
2x Cloak of Lórien (Celebrimbor’s Secret)
2x Light of Valinor (Foundations of Stone)
3x Miruvor (Shadow and Flame)
2x Silver Harp (The Treachery of Rhudaur)
3x Unexpected Courage (Core Set)
3x Vilya (Shadow and Flame)
1x Wingfoot (The Nîn-in-Eilph)

Event (12)
3x A Test of Will (Core Set)
2x Dwarven Tomb (Core Set)
2x Elrond’s Counsel (The Watcher in the Water)
3x Elven-light (The Dread Realm)
2x The Galadhrim’s Greeting (Core Set)

Player Side Quest (1)
1x Gather Information (The Lost Realm)

Sideboard
3x Power of Orthanc (Voice of Isengard)

arwen and aragorn.jpg
“Thanks for the resource babe!”

For those interested here is the most current published Fellowship on ringsdb which includes a list of the quests I have beaten so far with these decks: http://ringsdb.com/fellowship/view/1492

Also here is the evolution of my decks over several years in the form of a thread on the official forums that I use to regularly update with changes to my decks and thoughts on the various changes made: https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/topic/104951-two-handed-decks/

Leave a Reply

